My 1st Melt and Pour

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Melt and Pour Swirl FAIL 🙂

Today I made my first melt and pour – tried to do the swirl technique. Let me tell you now, it was a FAIL!! 🙂

I wanted to make a melt and pour soap. About a month ago I started watching some videos and reading some information on various sites, and it just seemed so easy! And it is, I am sure. As I “researched” and watched various videos on youtube, I “discovered” the swirl! Wow, such pretty soaps! So, I decided to do a Melt and Pour soap using the swirl technique.

I wasn’t sure if the Swirl technique was for Melt and Pour or for the Cold Process, so I googled “Melt and Pour Swirl” and some articles appeared so I thought “OK, it is possible”.

This is what a soap swirl may look like (there are so many diferent and beautiful swirl soaps):

http://www.soapqueen.com/bath-and-body-tutorials/cold-process-soap/psychedelic-spin-swirl-cold-process-tutorial/

So I decided to make my own swirl soap using Melt and Pour method.

I got all my stuff ready and started preparing myself to make my first soap. I had been imagining this for a few days and was pretty confident. I did a mental visualization of the process – material I needed, pouring the soaps and the final result beautiful…

So, first all the material I needed on the countertop:

  • Glycerin (opaque)
  • Fragrances and colouring
  • 4 Bowls
  • Spatulas
  • Sticks to mix (one for each bowl)
  • Molds (ideas here for economical molds)
  • Rubbing alcohol (which I forgot)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Material on the coutnertop
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Cutting glycerin in cubes
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Glycerin beginning to melt (heated in microwave)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Almost all melted
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Divide the melted glycerin in 4 diferent bowls

 

The 4 bowls:

  • Green+ 1 tablespoon of 100% olive oil + Rosemary fragrance (5 drops)
  • Pink + Rose fragrance (5 drops)
  • Orange + 1 teaspoon of turmeric powder
  • White glycerin (didn’t add any colour) + vanilla fragrance
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Add the fragrances and colouring

Goog idea: Since I don’t have a dropper, I dipped one of the sticks in the fragrance bottle and the drops that rolled off I poured in the bowls. I counted 5 drops for each fragrance I added. The “dropper” worked really well.

The melted base started to solidfy really quickly, so I reheated the bases with the fragrance and colouring added. Now I was ready to pour and do my swirl technique…or so I thought.

As I started to pour the liquid, each base in a corner, it was too thin and the 4 melted bases began to intersect eachother, but it seemed like it was going to work out. I finished pouring the 4 bases and started to rotate the mold about 45Âş at a time, around and around expecting the 4 bases to begin to swirl around each other (like this example). But the bases were beginning to solidify really quickly and weren’t flowing like I had seen in the youtube videos… So this is what happened:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Melt and Pour Swirl – FAIL FAIL FAIL

I then poured the rest of the melt and base in another mold I had, hoping to be able to do something like this, but what I got was this:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
FAIL FAIL FAIL

Lastly, I forgot the rubbing alcohol to spray on top of the melted base (it bursts the soap bubbles that might acumuluate on top), but then again I don’t think anyone will notice the bubbles on this beautiful melt and pour soap 🙂

24 hours later I umolded my soaps:

 

I cut them in pieces and I’ll turn them over to have the prettier side on top.

They turned out OK, not as pretty as I hoped but they will be used up like any other soap 🙂

Conclusions: Melt and Pour swirl is possible but not using the technique I used (video here with Melt and Pour Swirl). The technique I used is for Cold Process soaps.

But even if I had seen the video of Anne Marie Soap Quenn before my experience, I don’t think it would have worked out because my melt base was cooling up to quickly. I am not sure if it is because I wasn’t heating up (or maybe heating too much) my melt base. The right temperature to pour melt and pour base is 60ÂşC (140ÂşF) – NOTE to myself: I need to order a thermometer. Also, since my batches weren’t very big I think the melt base was cooling more quickly than if I had larger batches. Hopefully, I will be able to make my conclusions within the next soaps I make.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

