Educate yourself while you watch a movie

Having had eczema for almost all my life, I always had these 2 thoughts in my mind:

1- The weather worsens my eczema (it was always worse in the winter);

2- And that there was nothing I could do about it.

A few years ago, I added a few more thoughts to my list:

1- Stress and lack of sleep worsen my eczema;

2- It is important to keep my skin hydrated to prevent it from drying up so that it wouldn’t get itchy so I wouldn’t scratch it.

But, only last year did I realize just how much my eating habbits effect my eczema. I had pretty healthy eating habbits (ate lots of vegetables and fruits, didn’t drink any soda drinks and I rarely had sweets) but we used to go once a week or every 2 weeks to McDonalds. We also had cold cuts daily and “healthy” packaged snacks (cereal bars and crackers).

When we changed our eating habbits last year, we used the alkaline diet to help change our habbits. We aren’t strict with our “diet”, but we have changed some things, for example:

  • We eat less rice and pasta – we eat more buckwheat;
  • We eat more raw vegetables – brocoli and cabbage in our salads;
  • No more cold cuts – we eat cheese;
  • We include more seeds in our diet – pumpkin seeds, sunflower seeds…
  • We eat meat only 2 times a week.

The first days were complicated, and I still can’t go more than 3 days without eating pasta or rice lol. But we do feel less bloated and with more energy. And my eczema is better than it used to be, even though it hasn’t gone away.

I have mentioned this before, and I think that people should be more aware of the harm they are doing to their bodies when they eat without thinking of the consequences. Our life styles have changed so much in the last 100 years. If we could see the immediate effect our poor eating habbits have on our body maybe most people would change. For example, if when we were to drink a can of soda if our gums would begin to bleed, we would have an immediate reaction. But since the side effects don’t show up right away, they accumulate in our bodies for years and years, people see no harm and no link between what they eat and their bodies health.

I watched this documentary this weekend and I think that it has some very interesting information, it is well documented and funny 🙂

Have a look:

 

Take care of yourself,

Amanda

 

4 thoughts on “Educate yourself while you watch a movie

Leave a Reply

