1 month of Cold Process Soaps, I am addicted

This is the diary of a soapaholic.

I started soaping on Tuesday February 9, 2016. I will never forget the day because it was Carnaval (holiday) and I was pretty sick with the flu. I couldn’t smell anything and I had a pretty fierce headache. But the day before, I had recieved my first oficial order of soap supplies and I was more than ready to make my first cold process soap. No way was this headache and runny nose going to stop me!

Tuesday afternoon, I went downstairs to our basement, kids were sleeping their needed nap and my husband was entertained with his music. I started the soaping process in my mind, going through each step: lye+water, vegetable oils (olive oil, shea butter, coconut oil, jojoba oil…), blend everyhting together, add colours and essential oils… The different moulds I would be using and the different techniques I would try! You know how when you want to do something and can’t decide which one to do, that was me! So I decided to try the taiwan swirl, flowers on soap and the spinning swirl.

So, my first try went pretty well. A few things didn’t go as expected, ex: I spent more time trying to get the coconut out of the bottle than I wanted to (bottle had a small entrance and I couldn’t get a spoon in to scoop it out), my micas didn’t dissolve like I wanted (I added it directly to the batches of soap and some bits of mica didn’t dissolve), but that was pretty much all that went wrong. I poured my soaps in the moulds, did each technique as planned and they came out ok for a first experience.

One week later, my soaps began turning brownish (soap that had no colouring but I had mixed essential oil). Now I have learned that some some essential oils turn the batch brown when it has no colours added.

Here are some pics of my first soaps:

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Taiwan Swirl

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Spinning Swirl
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
“Flowers” on top

This Wednesday I finally tested my first soap. Wow, it is awesome 🙂 I am very happy with it! I wash my kids with it, we wash our hair with it, it smells really nice (ylang ylang and chamomile), lots of bubbles and really leaves my skin soft and hidrated 🙂 My skin isn’t as dry and my eczema spots aren’t itchy (still red but not itchy).

I am very pleased 🙂

So I took some pictures of the soaps I made, every weekend I have made one batch.

I have lots of ideas and I finished my coconut and palm oil so I will be making a new order very soon 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
2nd batch – Flowers on top of soap
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
3rd batch – Full of Soda ash!
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Taiwan Swirl, exploring
P3064785.JPG
4th batch, Cocoa powder drawing
P3064783.JPG
4th batch, Cocoa powder and cinnamon
P3064802.JPG
All my batches made this month of February

Soap I made yesterday:

P3134817.JPG
Smells like vanilla

P3134819.JPG

P3134826.JPG
Pretty

They aren’t exactly how I imagined them, but I am getting closer to the type of “art” that I like best. Practice, practice, practice, I might get there one day 🙂

Take care,

Amanda

2 thoughts on “1 month of Cold Process Soaps, I am addicted

    1. Thank you! Yes I am enjoying it very much! And I am seeing improvements on my skin! It isn’t as dry and itchy! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

