Cold process Soap with white spots/bubbles – what is it?

Hello!

I made a soap yesterday (haven’t soaped in a month). I was trying to make a new soap like geometric soaps, inspired by Pasito a Pasito.

Using my acrylic mold and spare parts, I decided to invent a little bit and see what would happen…

My idea was to make a geometric soap with a straight line and a slanted line with different soap colours on each side, like the image below:

Geomtric soap
How I imagine the geometric soap

Today morning when I went to check on my soap, I saw that it is full of white spots/bubbles on top.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bubbles/white spots on top of soap (24 hours after pouring)

 

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bubbles/white spots on top of soap (24 hours after pouring)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
Bubbles/white spots on top of soap (24 hours after pouring)
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
White spots in soap
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
White spots in soap

I wondered if it was lye? or coconut oil that hadn’t melted? But then I remembered and I am sure that everything was well mixed when I poured…. I touched some of the soap with my fingers and rolled it in my hands to see if it burns or tingles, fortunately it doesn’t.

I tried to take note of everything that went a little bit different than usual that might have influenced the outcome of this soap:

  • I used frozen goat milk with lye (but I have already made other soaps with goat milk that turned out ok)
  • I took a little longer to pour my soap than usually. My soap batter was pretty thick when I poured it in (I usually pour it in much thinner)
  • The weather is much hotter than the other times I soaped, around 30ºC (10ºC higher than usual temperatures that I have soaped with).

When I looked closer to the bubbles/spots it looks like bubbles that popped? Could it be? It never happened before to me and I never heard of it…

If you have any idea what it is please help me out! 🙂

I am not sure if I can use this soap (if it is lye or not).

Meanwhile I will be googling the net to see if I can figure this out.

I am going to post a video on youtube too 🙂

You are welcome to comment and help me out!

I am planning on finishing my soap tomorrow (filling in the void spaces where the acrylic is now with black soap – my original idea in the beginning of the post) .

When I have the final cut of the soap I will update this post.

Thanks!

Take care,

Amanda

 

Leave a Reply

